The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean - UNLOCK YOUR CHAKRA

The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean

The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean

What is Chakra

The word “Chakra” translates to wheel in Sanskrit. It refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. If any of the Chakras are blocked, then energy cannot flow freely, causing emotional and physical ailments.

Each of the chakras is directly related to a part of our body and affect your overall health. It is vital to clear and open these wheels to allow out body to function as it was designed.

Your Chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, diet and lack of exercise. The good news is that you can easily unlock your chakras by implementing few changes in your life. This will drastically improve your emotional and physical well-being.

The seven chakra are the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra and the Crown Chakra. We will explore the chakras more in depth as well as tips on how to align them in following articles.

Energy flows through the seven Chakras in our bodies. Any blocked energy in our seven Chakras can lead to illness, that is why it’s important to understand what each chakra represent and how to keep this energy flowing.

1st Chakra

The Root Chakra, represents our foundation and is all about feeling grounded and secure.

Location: Base of spine in tailbone area

What affects it: Survival issues, such as money and food

Color: Red

Healing Exercises: The Root Chakra is all about feeling grounded. Stomping your bare feet on the ground is a great exercise for this. Practicing Kundalini Yoga and doing Bridge Pose will help to open up your lower spine.

Healing Foods: The color of Root Chakra is red. Therefore eat,

  • Red colored foods like apples and beets.
  • Vegetables from ground like carrots and potatoes.
  • Hot spices like red cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce

2nd Chakra

The Sacral Chakra relates to our ability to feel creative, sexual, accept change and accept others and new experiences.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.

What affects it: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality, lack of activities.

Color: Orange

Healing Exercises:

  • Pelvic thrusts
  • Cobra Yoga Pose

Healing Foods: The color of Sacral Chakra is orange. Therefore eat,

  • Orange colored foods like oranges and tangerines
  • Nuts

3rd Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra, represents our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

What affects it: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem, low immunity and weakness in core muscles.

Color: Yellow

Healing Exercises:

  • Kundalini Yoga, Boat
  • Dancing.

Healing Foods: The color of Solar Plexus Chakra is Yellow. Therefore eat

Yellow colored foods like corn

  • Grains and fiber like granola and whole wheat bread
  • Teas like peppermint and chamomile tea

4th Chakra

The Heart Chakra, represents our ability to love

Location: Center of chest just above heart

What affects it: Love, joy, inner peace and anger

Color: Green

Healing Exercises:

  • Bikram Yoga
  • Love, just opening up our hearts to others is the best healing exercise.

Foods: The color of Heart Chakra is Green. Therefore eat

  • Green colored foods like leafy vegetables and spinach
  • Green tea

5th Chakra

The Throat Chakra, represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves.

Location: Throat

What affects it: Communication, self-expression of feelings, speaking the truth, holding secrets and inability to express oneself.

Color: Blue

Healing Exercises: Singing, chanting, speaking, and standing up for others but especially for yourself. Do Shoulder stand when doing yoga.

Healing Foods:

  • Juices and teas
  • All types of fruits

6th Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra, is related to our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

Location: Forehead between the eyes

What affects it: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think, make decisions, lack of insight, and feeling lost

Color: Indigo

Healing Exercises:

  • Child's Pose or other forward bend yoga poses
  • Eye exercises
  • Herbal oil treatment

Healing Foods: The color of Third Eye is Indigo. Therefore eat

  • Purple colored fruits like grapes and blueberries
  • Chocolate
  • Lavender flavored spices or tea

 7th Chakra

 The Crown Chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Location: The very top of our head

What affects it: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss, fear, and disconnection

Color: Violet

Healing Exercises:

  • Running or cardio
  • Meditation

Healing Foods: The Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our surroundings and does not benefit from healing foods. The Crown Chakra is more likely to benefit from breathing clean and fresh air and sunshine. 

Our handmade Chakra Bracelet collection, designed to help manifest the dreams and wellness of the wearer. Each piece of gemstone jewelry is created for healing the mind, body and soul.

Please browse our collection by visiting Shop

Authentic Chakra Crystal Bracelets